Monday, May 7, 2012

Indian Women Squash Team won its Maiden Asian Squash Championship

Indian women squash team won its maiden gold at the 16th Asian Squash Championship in Kuwait on 5 May 2012. The women team created a history by defeating the top seeded Hongkong team in the title clash. Indian women 71st seeded ed Joshna Chinnappa and 14th seeded Dipika Pallikkal defeated world number sixteen Joey Chan and world number seven Annie Au respectively.
Prior to this, the best performance of Indian women squash team had come in 2010 at the last championship held in 2010 in Chennai, when the team had managed to clinch the silver.
The Indian men's team, however, suffered a 0-2  defeat against Pakistan in the conclusive contest. India’s national champion Saurav Ghosal and Siddharth Suchde lost to Pakistan's first ranked Farhan Mehboob and Farhan Zaman respectively.
Asian Squash Championship had started off in 1981. The inaugural edition of the championship was held in Karachi in Pakistan.